Photo: Sartorius

ACTIP Fellowships

The Animal Cell Technology Industrial Platform (ACTIP) is an informal science-based forum of European companies employing animal cell technology in the development and production of biopharmaceuticals, vaccines and other preventative or therapeutic approaches. Twice a year the ACTIP member company representatives, invited speakers and observer companies meet to discuss scientific research, development, technology and regulatory topics of mutual interest. The meetings take place in the hometowns of member companies (and sometimes on the premises) and are characterized by a friendly, open atmosphere that allows good interactions, networking and scientific discussions.

ACTIP opens up these informal industrial meetings to young scientists working on a project in biomanufacturing or related activity of industrial interest, i.e. development of new expression systems, new mammalian cell lines, cell culture processes, test development. The project might have been conducted in industry, academia or a government agency.

The ACTIP Fellowship consists of all costs paid to attend and give a presentation during a two-day ACTIP meeting. In order to be selected for such an opportunity, ACTIP publishes regular open calls for application for an ACTIP Fellowship. For more information on the application process and criteria download the flyer from the last call here. The next open call is expected in Spring 2021.

“It was an excellent experience participating in this event as it generated great networking opportunities and it allowed for presenting research projects in front of representatives from key biopharmaceutical companies working with animal cells.”

“It was a great pleasure to be part of the conference about topical subjects in animal cell technologies of biopharmaceutical companies and to present my research work to that expert audience.”

“The ACTIP Fellowship opened up an excellent platform for me to connect with leaders of various European biotech companies. In addition, I gained impressive insights into the current questions and problems of the companies, which will definitely help me in my personal development.”

“I am greatful for the pleasant experience to meet and discuss with innovative thinkers from many stakeholder companies in biopharma. The networking atmosphere was greatly intensified by an intimate atmosphere and joyful social program.”

Sara Pereira (ACTIP Fellow 2017-2018)

Alina Handl (ACTIP Fellow 2017-2018)

 Nikolas Zeh (ACTIP Fellow 2019-2020)

Michael Sokolov (ACTIP Fellow 2017-2018)

Since its inception in 2009, 34 Fellows have been awarded with the ACTIP Fellowship.
The last Fellow was given the ACTIP Fellowship Award in Darmstadt, Germany on 22 November 2019.

All Fellows that received their honours at the ACTIP meetings since 2009 are shown below with the title of their projects:

Winners fellowship 2019-2020

Nikolas Zeh (awarded in November 2019)
The production of exosomes as vehicles for RNA-based pharmaceuticals
Biberach University of Applied Sciences, Germany
nikolas.zeh@gmx.net

Winners fellowship 2017-2018

Thomas Amann (awarded in May 2019)
Design of optimal CHO N‐glycosylation profiles
AWA Denmark A/S, Denmark
thoam@biosustain.dtu.dk

Michael Sokolov (awarded in December 2018)
Big Data and Digitalization in the Bioprocessing Environment
ETH Zurich, Switzerland
michael.sokolov@chem.ethz.ch

Sara Pereira (awarded in June 2018)
Engineering of by-product-reduced CHO cell lines
NovoNordisk & TUD, Denmark
sarpe@biosustain.dtu.dk

Alina Handl (awarded in June 2018)
Development of M3C Strategies in Production Processes with CHO Cell Cultures to Prevent the Formation Product Aggregation during Process
Biberach University of Applied Sciences & Ulm University, Germany
handl@hochschule-bc.de

Gundula Sprick (awarded in December 2017)
Transduction of Human Mesenchymal Stroma Cells with Recombinant Baculoviruses
Giessen University of Applied Sciences, Germany
gundula.sprick@lse.thm.de

Winners fellowship 2015-2016

Gonçalo M.C. Rodrigues (awarded in May 2017)
Large-Scale Production of Human Oligodendrocyte Precursor Cells from Pluripotent Stem Cells
University of Lisbon & University of California, Portugal
gmcr26@gmail.com

Luis Fernando Malaver-Ortega (awarded in Dec. 2016)
Engineering biological functions in vitro for vaccine production
CSIRO, Australia
Luis.Malaver@csiro.au

Lisa A. Pieper (awarded in May 2016)
Engineering of recombinant antibody producing CHO cells to improve productivity and robustness by knockdown/knockout strategies
University of Stuttgart, Germany
lisa.pieper@izi.uni-stuttgart.de

Maren Bleckmann (awarded in Dec. 2015)
Optimization of recombinant protein production in insect cells
Helmholtz Center for Infection Research, Germany
bleckmann.maren@gmail.de

Winners fellowship 2013-2014

Karen Schwab
2D fluorescence spectroscopy in combination with extrinsic fluorescence dyes as powerful tool during process development to ensure product quality
University of Biberach, Germany
karen.schwab@boehringer-ingelheim.com

Benjamin Neunstoecklin
Criteria for scale-up and scale-down of bioreactors for cultivation of mammalian cells
ETHZ, Switzerland
b.neunstoecklin@gmail.com

Sarah Mercier
Evaluation and implementation of PAT tools to improve manufacturing excellence of Crucell’s PER.C6® cultivation processes
Wageningen UR & Crucell, The Netherlands
smercier@its.jnj.com

Daria Popova
Robust Strategy Development for Primary Recovery of Mammalian Cell Cultures
University College of London, United Kingdom
d.popova@ucl.ac.uk

Rhian Grainger
CHO cell line specific prediction and control of recombinant monoclonal antibody N-glycosylation
Oxford BioMedica, United Kingdom
rhiangrainger@gmail.com

Margarida Serra
Bioengineering approaches for up- and down-stream processing of human stem cells for clinical application
iBET/ITQB, Portugal
mserra@itqb.unl.pt

Thomas Villiger
Experimental and modeling framework to control N-linked glycosylation
ETH & Merck-Serono, Switzerland
thomas.villiger@chem.ethz.ch

Christian Schrøder Kaas
Using transcriptomics and mammalian cell line engineering for optimizing biopharm production
Technical University of Denmark & Novo Nordisk A/S, Denmark
csrk@novonordisk.com

Winners fellowship 2012

Robert Whitfield
Analysis of the key intracellular signalling pathways involved in the suspension and serum-free adaptation of CHO cells

University of Sheffield, United Kingdom
r.j.whitfield@sheffield.ac.uk

Edoardo D’Imprima
Micro-Platform for cell sorting and drug discovery

Max-Planck-Institute, Germany
eddimpri@biophys.mpg.de

Jochen Sieck
Response of a CHO production cell line to separate hydrodynamic shear stress regimes in bioreactors
Novartis Pharma, Switzerland
jochen.sieck@novartis.com

Jana Rödig
Process conditions can markedly affect the N-glycosylation pattern and immunogenicity of Influenza A virus
Max-Planck-Institute, Germany
roedig@mpi-magdeburg.mpg.de

Winners fellowship 2011

Peter O’Callaghan
The engineering design paradigm as a tool to enhance industrial recombinant monoclonal antibody production
Lonza Biologics, United Kingdom
peter.ocallaghan@lonza.com

Steffen Meyer
mHost-XS – A new versatile donor- & expression vector for protein production in eukaryotic systems
Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research, Germany
Steffen.Meyer@helmholtz-hzi.de

Jan Bechmann
Application of metabolomics technologies for the evaluation of data driven bioprocess control in CHO cell cultures
Boehringer Ingelheim, Germany
jan.bechmann@boehringer-ingelheim.com

Thomas Solacroup
Applying enhanced Quality by Design approach for the design space of a mammalian cell culture process
Merck Serono, Switzerland
thomas.solacroup@merckgroup.com

Winners fellowship 2010

Stephanie Tissot
Orbitally shaken bioreactors for mammalian cell culture
EPFL, Switzerland
stephanie.tissot@epfl.ch

Sonja Wilke
Producing mammalian proteins for structures: site-directed recombination in CHO Lec3.2.8.1 cells
Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research, Germany
sonja.wilke@helmholtz-hzi.de

Sven Ansorge
Multi-frequency permittivity measurements for real time monitoring supervision and control of cell culture processes
National Research Council Canada, Biotechnology Research Institute, Canada
sven.ansorge@cnrc-nrc.gc.ca

Rutger van Wielink
Improving the production of deINS1 influenza virus in animal cell culture
Wageningen University, Central Veterinary Institute, The Netherlands
rutger.vanwielink@wur.nl

Winners fellowship 2009

Rosalyn Masterton
Engineering mammalian cells for enhanced recombinant protein production
Dept. of Biosciences, University of Kent, United Kingdom
r.j.masterton@kent.ac.uk

Jochen Schaub
Systems Biotechnology Approaches in Industrial Mammalian Cell Culture
Boehringer Ingelheim Pharma GmbH & Co. KG
A BP Process Science, Germany

Markus Heine
High performance minicircle for industrial production of recombinant therapeutic agents
Helmholtz Center for Infection Research, Germany
Markus.Heine@helmholtz-hzi.de

Tobias May
Biological relevant cell systems: the conditional immortalization system
Helmholtz Center for Infection Research, Germany
tobias.may@helmholtz-hzi.de

©2019 ACTIP Privacy Policy

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?